6 Replies Latest reply: Feb 27, 2013 1:55 AM by dersteffler123 RSS

Difference between Ariba Network and Ariba Discovery

dersteffler123 Apprentice
Currently Being Moderated

Hello Ariba experts!

I am a student from Germany writing on my Master Thesis about Ariba.

Could you tell me the difference between Ariba Network and Discovery?

Second question concerns the buying process. I found the following picture:

aribacom_procurement.png

What does this mean for the buying process using Ariba and SAP. Where are the differences? How can I pay with Ariba? What means receive & reconcile? What does this mean for my ERP system? For example at the Procure-to-Pay level I don't need an ERP System or does it that Ariba can support me in the whole P2P process but I still need my ERP system. Sorry for the probably easy question but I couldn't find detailed information for the picture above. I only found those documents for each way but they gave me not enough information.

Thanks for you help!

Best regards!

• Re: Difference between Ariba Network and Ariba Discovery
    Ceylan Thomson Ariba Contributor

Thank you for your questions. I’m glad to see that you are interested in Ariba and making it the focus of your Master’s Thesis. I can address your question regarding the difference between the Ariba Network and Ariba Discovery.

If you take a process viewpoint of the collaboration touch-points between a buyer and a seller in a B2B transaction as illustrated below, you see there are several phases of the cycle that involve different parties on both the buyer and seller sides of the business.