9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2010 1:59 PM by David Morel

Reverse Auction with 2 bidders?  How often is it done?

Jaclyn Prince Apprentice
      I'm interested to know the success rate of a 2 supplier eAuction.  Winner take-all scenario so a very large 'at stake' proposal for the lowest bidder.  Is this used often?  If yes, any guidance?
        • Re: Reverse Auction with 2 bidders?  How often is it done?
          Jacob Larsen Journeyman

Hi Jaclyn

We have done it quite a few times. In a traditional reverse auction there is a high risk of loosing the dynamic bidding you have with many suppliers.

In my opinion the most efficiceint way of doing an auction with 2 suppliers is to use the reverse Dutch auction format. We have used that with 2 suppliers a number of times with very good results!

/Jacob

Ellen Terchila Apprentice

Jaclyn,

As a sourcing services consultant, I've faced this situation a handful of times in my 6+ years here at Ariba.  I agree with Jacob that Dutch Auctions can work great for 2 bidder auctions.  For example, I ran one last year for black car and limo services and it was very successful.  In addition, you might want to consider the following information when determining how to handle this:

Online markets with only two participants are inherently more risky than markets with three or more participants.  The first place to start when evaluating any market is what Ariba considers the “Six Cs” of successful online bidding.  See below and attachment for more information.  These considerations take on even more importance when dealing with a two-bidder market, because right from the start you have a less than optimal answer to one of them – “Competitive Supply Base”.  It is important to ensure that the answer to the others is Yes.

1. Competitive supply base; 2. Commercially attractive; 3. Contractually available; 4. Committed buying team; 5. Clearly defined requirements; 6. Compressible margin.