1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 4, 2011 7:38 AM by Brandi Greene

Survey Scoring best practice?

Brandi Greene Expert

We implemented SPM one year ago and now that we've had some time/experience under our belt, we want to ensure that our scoring practices are in line with current best practice thinking.  Would anyone be willing to share their current scoring methodology?

Currently, we use the following response scoring:

Exceeds Expectations - 100

Satisfied - 80

Partially Satisfied - 50

Unsatisfied - 0

The consultant who assisted with implementation recommended this scoring method to help draw attention to situations where questions were scored with Unsatisfied rather than using an evenly spaced scale.

Would love to hear others thoughts!  Thanks in advance....

• Re: Survey Scoring best practice?
          Karim el Gamal Journeyman

Hi Brandi,

I am an Ariba Customer Success Manager out of Europe and working with a number of customers who have implemented Surveys and Scorecards.

In terms of survey scoring I have seen various approaches.

For example, one customer I am working with uses a different scale depending on the survey section.

Subjective questions around the perceived performance of the suppliers tend to use a scale containing 4 levels, varying from a grade of 100% down to 20% (so no zero scoring)

Value
          10) I strongly agree

Grade

100.00%

(8) I agree
          80.00%
          (5) I disagree
          50.00%
          (2) I strongly disagree
          20.00%

Or

Value Grade
          (10) Better than expected
          100.00%
          (8) About what I expected
          80.00%
          (5) Somewhat worse than expected
          50.00%
          (2) Much worse than expected
          20.00%

Another customer I am working with also uses a scale containing 4 levels, but with a minimum grade of 40%. For example, the survey question "Does the supplier resolve problems and escalate internally as appropriate?" can be scored as follows: